I ♥ UK

Tuesday 28th August 2012

13:09

I’m still not back at work. I have been signed off for the whole of this week, and then I’m on holiday next week. The thing is though I’m almost well enough to go back to work. I can walk around without getting too out of breath now, I just can’t do anything much more than that, and unfortunately my job requires much more than that. I’m tempted to just have this week off and spend my weeks holiday making sure I’m properly rested and return to work fresh faced and eager(ish) the following week. If I make myself go back early then it might screw up my holiday if I don’t handle it very well. I just feel like I should be back and feel guilty for being off really.

So my holiday next week, if I am feeling alright, is going to be a cottage in Cornwall. We’re only going for a few days, but I’m very much looking forward to it. Since I’ve been with Sarah we’ve only ever holidayed abroad, which is great and all, but there’s a beauty to Devon and Cornwall that’s unmatchable. I cannot wait to get onto that beach and watch that sunset over the sea taking in the scents of the salty sea air. Maybe even with a cheeky fish and chips. It has to be done. It is the British way!

Actually about that; I’ve never felt more proud to be British than I have this year. We have had a fantastic unforgettable year. All the sport, Andy Murray reaching the Wimbledon final, Bradley Wiggins winning the Tour de France, England doing sort of ok in the Euros, and of course the whole of the Olympics. Not only did we host both a stunning opening ceremony and closing ceremony, we also did pretty damn well at the actual events as well, ending third in the medal table. And then there were all the Diamond Jubilee celebrations, all the concerts, the street parties, seeing the Queen passing through our city, it was just amazing.

I may need to stick the national anthem on and cry a proud tear. Excuse me. Actually “Land of Hope and Glory” is better, let’s put that on. That one gives me the chills. Seriously how is this not the national anthem?

Anyway, went off on a bit of a tangent there. It’s just been a good year to be British; I felt it needed to be said. Hopefully the Paralympics will also be a good watch.

More on topic, it’s worth mentioning that I did take some more pictures over the last few days, so you can expect to see them up some time in the future. I will upload the last of the ones from April and a teaser for these new ones!

This may well be my last entry before my appointment next month, so wish me luck. I will of course let you know how it went. Until then, thanks for reading!

IMG_2840 (1)IMG_2843 (1)IMG_2846 (1)IMG_2849 (1)photo(1)

Night! X

5 Responses to “I ♥ UK”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    thanks for the update your pics are amazing as always hope to chat to you on tvchix soon

  2. gill bates Says:

    good luck with the appointment girl

  3. sam Says:

    good luck with the appointment and enjoy your stay in Cornwell ,,,,,,,,samxxxx

  4. rheapdx1 Says:

    Hey Ella,

    Love the pics as always…they are pretty darn amazing….!!!

    The pride that you mention for the UK was one of th major threads that came through while watching the games on the telly…as well as the online posts. Granted there was a little bit of a concern that the expense of same would rival ‘Drapeau’s Folly’, when Montreal did same in the 70’s. But they were something to behold [Aside from the home pride in Gabby Douglas, I mentioned to the cats how important it was that Andy Murray won the tennis…..as well as the UK medal in cycling]. And something says that there will be another push for London to host again sometime soon.

    Agreed about the beauty of home vacations. It was one of the things the former roomie and I did..which accounted for one of memorable trips to Northern Iowa and to where ‘Field of Dreams’ was filmed.There is or rather was something about getting to that somewhat sared ground before it was opened to other tourists for the day. So enjoy the time away.

    By the by when the appointment comes…, ask all the questions that are on your mind and then some. That as well as making sure they will do the followups, check the levels etc. Needless to say from the example here [as You and others know]…it’s something of a big deal to make sure those are in place and do not show anything harmful.

    Til Later On and Good Luck!!

    Love Always!!

    Randi

  5. Gabriela Almeida Says:

    Ella, girl; that job is not at your level find something that realy challenge you…
    The other and more important thing; you feel that by setting these appointments you are doing your part, but let me tell you something it is your time that is being wasted,,,those doctors won’t know better than you…look for alternatives
    And last, but not least; in every new photo you look more and more natural…nice!!

Leave a Reply

