Cloverfield Thoughts

Wednesday, 30 January 2008

01:12

I’m really getting slack at updating this everyday, but I don’t want it to feel like a chore so if I don’t fancy writing my diary then gosh darn it I won’t force myself! Forcing can only lead to entries that don’t make sense and/or aren’t that good to read.

I have not been up to great deal recently, I’ve just been so happy about getting this new computer that I’ve been looking all over the internet to see just how good it is and what things I’ll be able to put on there. It’s really eating up my evenings.

Tonight I’d like to just talk about ‘Cloverfield’. If you’ve not heard of it, here’s a trailer…

 

Yes, this is basically a movie about a monster prowling the streets of New York. Now, I’m not going to go all serious on you, but looking at that trailer, just how much are you reminded of 9/11? It was all I could think of when I looked at that. But the thing is, I actually want to see it. It does look like an exciting film and tonight it was reviewed on “Film 2008 With Jonathan Ross” and he too liked it, claiming it is the best monster film of recent years.

So why do I want to see it? Morbid curiosity? Are the images of 9/11 still burnt so boldly in my mind, and have the people that made this movie known that, used it to their advantage? Obviously they will have made the connection, and it would not surprise me in the slightest if they’ve actually tried to get it the closest to 9/11 without it seeming like bad taste. Maybe most people’s memories of 9/11 have actually faded more than mine simply because I’ve been, well, a little obsessed, with 9/11 conspiracy theories and things like that. I have watched the attacks probably too many times and I do believe that we weren’t told the whole truth about what happened, but I’m not going to go into that here. I’m not a theorist nut, some of the alternative explanations make more sense, but again, I’ll leave that, there’s plenty of other people on the internet that know a whole lot more than me about this that explain it much better.

So is it bad taste? Does Cloverfield overstep the line? In my opinion, no, no it doesn’t. I cannot deny the similarities but does it really matter? If we chose to slate this film for ‘cashing in on 9/11’ then we would be at even greater risk of having stricter guidelines for films, and that, for me, would not be a good thing. Where would we draw the line. No film after 9/11 can show a falling building, or a plane crash, or people dying? You can’t do that, you cannot try and limit someone’s creativity by putting up these ‘no-go’ zones.

I haven’t seen this film, so I’ll just point out that these views have been formed from the trailers alone.

That’s all, more pictures soon (and maybe videos when I get my new computer after Thursday!)

Night! X

2 Responses to “Cloverfield Thoughts”

  1. Dawn Says:

    Funny, the whole 9/11 fiasco never once entered my mind while watching Cloverfield. Now that you mentioned it I *could* see some similarities, but I think you have to reach quite a bit for em. Fantastic movie though, I loved every minute of it, unfortunately the camera work made my GF quite ill so she didn’t get to enjoy it.

    By the way, great work on your blog (I’m almost done reading it :P), and a big long distance virtual hug for you and the courage that youve shown in dealing with your trans-ness. You make a beautiful woman, and obviously quite a smart one as well🙂

    take care,
    Dawn

  2. Ronnie Rho Says:

    I think Cloverfield proves that we as a culture are “over” 9-11. We’re feeling invulnerable enough to visit disaster flicks again.

Leave a Reply

