Treating Myself

Monday, 28 January 2008

00:44

Well apologies all for having abandoned you recently. Friday night was my fault, as I was looking at buying a new computer and it was all getting quite technical and confusing. Saturday night was not my fault because the internet decided to go to sleep before I did.

So what has happened in the past few days? Well for one, I’ve bought a new computer, a very very fancy new computer at that. I’ve ordered it on the internet so it should be here within two weeks. It feels like ages, I’m really looking forward to getting it! Once I get it I can start making more videos and editing more photos, and maybe even creating more music, as everything I need software-wise is coming with it. I really have been itching to make some creative videos, but my current computer, as good as it may be, is unfortunately not really good enough for serious video editing and photo editing. The new one I’m getting is several times quicker than this one and it does have a pretty good graphics card so I might actually be able to play games like The Sims 2 with fair affect. I admit to you now that I probably am a bit of a geek and I will be ordering some other games for it too. I, myself don’t see the big problem with games and why they’re seen as a geeky unsociable thing to do.

If you think about it, it’s no more unsociable than reading a book. Ok you probably don’t use your imagination as much as you do when reading, but you do get some fantastic stories none-the-less. They could be considered the 21st Century equivalent of books. Obviously that’s only true if you get one with a good story, which is really the only kind of game I like. The Sims 2 is good because you can make your own story, and also, with websites like Simmergirl out there, it also proves as quite a fun way to create TG fiction.

Oh yes, and another reason for getting a new computer; I want to find out what the deal is with “Second Life”. I think that has the potential to suck my evenings away without much trouble.

Anyway, I have work again tomorrow unfortunately, so I’ll go and sleep.

Night! X

One Response to “Treating Myself”

  1. jsst Says:

    Please no. The Sims gets boring after around 30 minutes, when you have to constantly fulfil chores and start your Sim off on the career ladder. It quickly becomes a job in itself.

    Second Life is a wank excuse for a game. Offering you nothing. Wikipedia managed to go from nothing to an encyclopedia because it had goals and direction. Second Life is just an empty mish mash of gaudy half baked ideas and badly designed furries.

    If you want social gaming, go for a proper MMO. Guild Wars is a pretty good one without a subscription. There are free MMOs coming out of Korea, but I’m unsure of their quality. Get yourself The Orange Box, Team Fortress 2 is fun, and unlike the Halos and Counter-Strikes of this world, aren’t filled with people who take themselves too seriously.

    And if you want to lose the next 3 months of your life, consider Civilization IV. It might seem daunting, but as soon as you get into it, you’ll be hooked, and then it’ll be the summer.

Leave a Reply

