KIDS MAKE NUTRITIOUS SNACKS

Saturday, 29 December 2007

01:30

I just opened up my browser and landed on my homepage BBC.co.uk. I then had a quick look down the page, which is frankly unusual for me. I’m not even sure why BBC is my home page, I rarely use it properly. I guess it’s just out of habit now. Anyway today I did have a quick look today and I was most intrigued by the headline “Plant awarded “Beard of the Year”’

Now, you know what I was thinking. There are several things bizarre about this headline. First off, since when was there a ‘Beard of the Year’ competition? Secondly, since when did plants have beards? And thirdly, would a bearded plant actually be eligible for entry into a ‘Beard of the Year’ competition or other facial hair related awards ceremonies designed primarily for humans?! Unfortunately upon clicking the headline, it turned that there’s a guy called Robert Plant (who incidentally is from Led Zeppelin) that was awarded it. And yes it is a real competition.

With further reading I found out of the existence of a “Beard Liberation Front” which amused me a little. Apparently there’s a ‘front’ to stop so-called ‘beardism’ which I didn’t know existed. I actually just read a Wikipedia article about the “Beard Liberation Front” (saaaaad!!) and it turns out that the word ‘beardism’ didn’t even exist before they started fighting it. Now, correct me if I’m wrong but fighting something that technically didn’t exist before hand is a stupid idea. If anything it has raised the profile of beardism, and may increase beardist related attacks (?!).

This is all a little tongue in cheek though as the founder of the BLF is also a spokesman for “Campaign For Real Conkers”. Anyone still taking this guy seriously?! Obviously this isn’t as serious as say, gay and transgender rights, for example. It’s just a bit of fun, I think.

Anyway, reading that easily misinterpreted headline made me look for a few more on the web. I found a short list of some so here’s a few of my faves.

IRAQI HEAD SEEKS ARMS

WAR DIMS HOPE FOR PEACE

TYPHOON RIPS THROUGH CEMETERY, HUNDREDS DEAD

IF STRIKE ISN’T SETTLED QUICKLY, IT MAY LAST A WHILE

KIDS MAKE NUTRITIOUS SNACKS

IS THERE A RING OF DEBRIS AROUND URANUS?

I took/stole all of those from this site. Things like that make me laugh. If these were serious, why did nobody notice? Seriously?

Anyway, it’s getting on again so I’ll leave. Hmm, just thought, I’ve still got pictures to upload. I’ll make sure I do it soon.

Night! X

3 Responses to “KIDS MAKE NUTRITIOUS SNACKS”

  1. similar website Says:

    Ahaa, its pleasant discussion about this piece of writing at this place at this weblog, I
    have read all that, so at this time me also commenting
    at this place.

  2. Evelyn Says:

    I every time used to study paragraph in
    news papers but now as I am a user of net therefore from now I am using net for posts, thanks to web.

  3. Sima Says:

    Can I simply say what a relief to discover someone that truly knows what they’re discussing over the internet. You actually understand how to bring a problem to light and make it important. More and more people must look at this and understand this side of the story. I was surprised you aren’t more popular since you certainly have
    the gift.

Leave a Reply

