Historic Greenhouses R’nt Us

Sunday, 25 November 2007

01:51

Well apparently the phrase ‘historic greenhouses’ has been typed into google, and that person then managed to find a link to this very site. I don’t know what’s more weird, the fact that the person was looking for historic greenhouses, and then decided to click on a site that has nothing to do with what they wanted, or somebody is actually interested in historic greenhouses?!

Well today, I’ll be honest, not a whole lot happened. It was a day at work, that’s about it. But my day was certainly brightened considerably by an article in the ‘Daily Mail’, and it’s really not often that is said. It usually is the fuel behind the ‘We’re all going to die’ fire. But no, today, when I was on my second break and alone in the cafeteria, I read this and actually started laughing to myself. It just tickled my comedy strings.

Ok I’ll fill you in. These were answers given by ill-informed school kids when answering tests. You may have read them, you may have now, here’s a few…

“Homer wrote the Oddity. Actually, Homer was not written by Homer but by another man of that name”

“Poetry is when every line starts with a capital letter and doesn’t reach the right side of the page” (Let’s give them credit, they’re not wrong!)

“Joan of Arc was Noah’s sister”

“Handel was half-German, half-Italian and half-English. He was very large”

“One horsepower is the amount of energy it takes to drag a horse 500 feet in one second”

And finally…

“Clouds just keep circling the Earth around and around, and around. There is not much else to do”

There you go, I hope you feel suitably enlightened. To be honest, thinking about education and everything, there are a lot of things you have to take granted as a pupil. I remember at school when we were being taught things, people would ask lots of questions about a particular subject and eventually the teacher would not have the answer and just say “Because that’s just the way things are, ok?!”. For example “Why is there gravity?”. I wanted to know why on everything, I don’t like to accept what we’re given. Maybe that’s why I’m so sceptical, and some would say, cynical. I think it’s healthy to be like that a bit though. To think outside the box and everything.

Anyway, that’s enough tonight. Oh, and by the way, the book that those quotes were taken from is called “Must Try Harder! The Very Worst Howlers By Schoolchildren”, available to buy in the UK here. Quite possibly a good Christmas present?! By the way, that wasn’t advertising, that was just so it didn’t seem like I was stealing the quotes!

Night! X

Leave a Reply

