Mr & Mr. Mrs & Mrs.

Thursday, 22 November 2007

01:08

The other day I was saying about how well the public acceptance of gay/lesbian people has come on. Well today I have more proof of that. I’m going to level with you, I work in Marks & Spencer, and for those of you that don’t know, that’s a primarily clothing and food high street store (unfortunately I’m on the food bit!). But anyway, we also sell cards. We don’t sell many, in fact in our store there are just two stands about two metres across on each. Well not so long ago I noticed these cards, and I was actually very impressed. For a store that doesn’t have a huge range of cards, it’s great to see gay/lesbian Mr & Mrthemed ones. I’ve never seen them before, not even in stores specifically for greetings cards. As far as I noticed there were only these two, but it’s a start! Mr & Mr. Mrs & Mrs. Very encouraging.

Interestingly the Mrs & Mrs cards have been selling a lot quicker than the Mr & Mr one.

By the way, apologies for the less than perfect quality of the picture. It was taken on my phone, and I had to take it quickly because there were a few supervisors around.

Anyway, away from cards now, but staying with work. I find it annoying and maybe a little confusing about the expiry dates of foods. I’ve always wondered why ‘Mature Cheese’ had an expiry date that’s usually less than a month away. It’s been sat in a relatively warm condition for months, maybe years, and then when it’s put in the fridge, suddenly it’s not fit for eating within a month. I have to admit I don’t know a whole lot about cheese, but that to me sounds wrong.

Similar thing with Parma Ham. It’s been hanging around for a few years, then comes into store completely uncooked and then suddenly it will be off in a month. Do fridges reduce the life of these products? If so, why isn’t it put somewhere that isn’t a fridge?!

Lastly is the most bizarre. Today I was doing a date check and I noticed that a foil platter dish had ‘gone out of date’. It’s foil, it’s a piece of foil, that is all. There is nothing edible about it. It turned out that it was a couple of months out of date too. Had it deteriorated? Urm, no! Did it stink? Urm, no. Would you come to harm if you ate it? Probably, but that’s got nothing to do with the date. The only possible explanation for it is that it used to be a chicken or something, and over time it turns into foil. Ok so that’s not really a ‘possible’ explanation.

It’s all about health and safety again isn’t it? Sometimes it just goes too far.

Enough for now,

Night! X

2 Responses to “Mr & Mr. Mrs & Mrs.”

  1. Stonehenge Says:

    You are hilarious! I love your humor.

  2. anmol1901@yahoo.com Says:

    Ella…The expiry date for non edible items I suppose is to maintain general quality standard guidelines which big brands follow. This would be a norm across the industry. But the question was worth asking… I also used to wonder when I was exactly your age…

Leave a Reply

