Our Indecisive Nanny State

Thursday, 08 November 2007

01:22

There’s one thing that’s really annoying me in the news at the moment. It’s been going on for so long and it really has to stop. Everyone telling us what to do. How we should eat, how we should live, everything like that.

What reminded me of this this morning was a story on the news about desserts. Apparently traditional desserts are becoming less and less popular, Hmm, I wonder why? Maybe it’s because every other story on the news is about how fat we are as a nation. You know there’s nothing we can do to stop the media constantly putting a downer on everything. You eat too much, you’re too fat, watch you saturated fats etc etc. Oh, wait a minute, the sale of desserts has gone down, what’s going on Britian? Don’t desert our traditional puddings! We have to keep it going, eat more fatty fat fat foods again, we’ve changed our mind.

Argh, it just drives me crazy. It’s not just that topic at all. Constantly there are people telling us how the world is going to end in a big massive fireball within the decade. Then they turn around and wonder why we’re all so stressed all the time! At the moment, protecting the environment is a big deal. It’s like the ‘in’ thing to do. I know our planet does need protecting, but I don’t believe all this about man-made global warming. Call me cynical, but I just don’t see it. I think it’s people that think too much of the human race. How long has Earth been around? It’s survived millions of asteroids hitting it and constant volcanoes, earthquakes and lightening storms pushing it around, but still it remains with a balanced ecosystem. Why just because man has evolved to a certain stage would it all suddenly go into chaos? Yes we emit a lot of carbon dioxide, but a lot of other things do too. Sheep breathe out carbon dioxide right? And there’s a greater population of sheep than people in Wales, so why don’t we all go out and kill some sheep! I know it’s stupid, but I’m just trying to prove a point. I’m not a whole lot worried about the future of our planet in that respect, but there are other things I do worry about.

For me, the main things that need to be sorted out now are efficient ways of recycling, and also renewable energy sources. Again call me cynical, but I think that the moment we run out of oil someone is magically going to come up with the perfect eco-friendly substitute, seemingly just in time, but in reality it’s been held back so all the money that can possibly be made out of that industry and been completely squeezed out. I don’t have any facts to support that, but I just think it’s the sort of thing that would happen. Maybe it’s just my imagination going over board.

Anyway, enough of that, I’ll grab some shut-eye.

Night! X

One Response to “Our Indecisive Nanny State”

  1. Alice Says:

    The world will go on with or without us. It is not the earth that we should be worried about really.
    I agree totally with what you are saying. You should become a politician or something

    p.s. ‘Don’t desert our traditional puddings!’ is a great line 🙂

Leave a Reply

