Practice Makes Perfect

Monday, 05 November 2007

01:02

I’m going to make myself a silent pledge to make sure I play more on the piano. I have been neglecting it recently, and I don’t want to lose that skill at all, it’s so beautiful to just be able to sit down a play a piece of music.

I played a bit today, that’s what reminded me. I did notice that I didn’t play as well today as I have done, as they say, you should always practice practice practice. At the moment I’m trying to learn one of Einaudi’s pieces, I Giorni, off by heart. I want to just sit down next to a piano without books and just knock that one out! I did start being able to play it with my eyes closed today, which is great for just letting yourself get so involved in the music, hopefully the music will just flow out of you. I don’t know why, but that music seems to mean a lot to me, that piece especially. There’s a lot of music on TV adverts that I want to play as well. In fact the two main ones are both by Dustin O’Halloran. His music is very similar to that of Einaudi, but it does sound a little more haunting. Here’s the two I mean…

I’m going to keep it short tonight, so there you go, I have work again tomorrow (why do weekends have to end?!) so I guess the sleep would be useful.

Currently I’m… thinking about the new (for the UK) show called ‘30 Rock’. It’s really quite funny at times, like today it just completely took the mick out of those shows where there’s two or more characters walking meaningfully down a corridor having a swift worded conversation. That happened in this episode I just saw except afterwards one of them said;

“Did we just walk in a circle?”

“Yeh, I was following you”

“Ah well, good walk and talk”

I would show you the video but I can’t find it. Meh, oh well, it made me laugh.

Night! X

2 Responses to “Practice Makes Perfect”

  1. loupix Says:

    these are both quite powerful pieces, I love piano music.

    NB: just thugh I would say hello:)

  2. Darcy Says:

    Every November when the Nanowrimo folks do their 50,000 word challenge, I piggy back a month of 50,000 seconds of music. It’s a great way to just keep the hands on the keys, and improvisational skills high. It builds a great personal catalog of creative ideas for later polish.

    Whatever happens, just keep bringing yourself back to the piano. Make it a place of comfort you want to come home to. 🙂

Leave a Reply

