Buy This…Now

Thursday, 25 October 2007

01:23

I’ve just been looking around the internet for videos and things. Here are two things I’ve seen on TV and I just wanted to see them again.

The first is this Cadbury’s Advert. If you’re British I imagine you’ve already seen it, but if not just watch it, it’s quite interesting.

Yeh, I know what you’re thinking, what does this have to do with chocolate? Well I don’t think it matters, what does matter is that it is memorable, and it certainly is. What also matters is that it will be accepted by the online community and that it gets made fun of and ‘re-mixed’ by others. More people uploading different videos of it onto various websites is only going to make it more and more popular. I mean look at me now, I’m talking about it, and you may have never heard of Cadbury, but you have now. Here’s a parody of the above video which made me laugh.

Lastly, I would just like to show these clips. The first is the original advert for Cillit Bang. Again, you may have seen it, you may not.

Ok next is a spoof of that advert done on The Peter Serafinowicz Show. This too made me laugh quite a bit!

So what is the point in me showing you these videos you may ask? Well I just want to say about the power of advertising. I have been very interested in advertising for quite a while and that is something I’d really like to get into as a career. Some of it can be intrusive and just horrible, but what I like is something that makes you stop and think, or just something that looks interesting, or something insanely funny. The following two videos are quite probably my two favourite ads of all time. And you know what, they do work, I know exactly which company did them and what they were advertising. This is the kind of thing I want to be making in the future, I want to be a part of this.

That last one is best seen on a big cinema screen though. It sends shivers down my spine.

Currently I’m…hoping I didn’t whack too many videos into one entry!

Night! X

Leave a Reply

