London Guilt

Wednesday, 24 October 2007

00:09

I’m back! I had my few days away in London just fine. Work hasn’t contacted me, so I presume it was all ok for me to have a day off. Maybe I should have completely double checked, but I should think I’d be ok.

Unfortunately I do have work tomorrow, but lets gloss over that for the moment and tell you what I’ve been up to.

First day we drove down to London, and before checking in to our hotel we went to Kew Gardens. It’s a great place, but it’s a long way to walk if you want to see all of it. We did see a lot of the nice bits, but in no way did we see all of it. I did take a few pictures, and I may post them later.

The following day, after a pleasant night at our hotel, we got the tube into central London. I do love London and I wish I could have seen more of it while I was there, but we were destined to only do touristy bits because we weren’t there long and basically that’s all people wanted to do.

When we got into the centre, we went on the London Eye, which was a great, albeit a little uncomfortable, experience. Yes we were in a safe pod with others and with no way of falling over the edge because you were in a completely sealed ball. But at the same time there was no denying just how high you go and also the doors said “Do Not Lean Against Doors”, suggesting that they might open if you do. I don’t usually get scared of heights, but I did then, I just felt a bit queasy, you know? I just wasn’t completely comfortable. Apart from that though, I’d highly recommend it, just make sure you pick a good day so you can make the most of it, and I imagine it would be stunning up there on a clear evening.

After that we walked along the bank of the Thames towards Tower Bridge and the Tower of London. Now, for those of you in the know, this isn’t exactly far from a TG Bar, “The Way Out Club”. This was the bar that I went to for the one and only time I’ve been out dressed. I could not stop thinking about that when I was up there, and I just felt so guilty as my parents were so clueless that I’d been here more recently than they thought, and also I wasn’t looking as they might expect. That clouded my mind quite a bit, and when we’d finished going around the tower they were quite surprised at how I knew just so well where the Underground station was.

That’s another thing, whenever I go on the trains in and around London, or just anywhere in fact, I’m filled with an overwhelming guilt knowing that most of my train journeys have been that to deceive my parents. They know nothing as far as I am aware and I can feel myself getting a bit emotional.

Anyway, that was yesterday. Today we all woke, packed our bags and checked out the hotel. We did have a quick circular walk around the area we were staying, and I have to say it was pretty nice. The area was Richmond. It’s a fair distance from the central part of London, but it’s close enough for you to feel it! We didn’t do a whole lot today, apart from all the travelling home after the walk.

My view of London hasn’t really changed. It’s still somewhere I’d maybe like to stay for a while, just to see what it’s like. I have to be honest though, San Francisco still gets my vote for the place I’d most like to live, it just seems so much more… me.

Well that’s all for tonight, I started going to bed early in London (10pm!) so I’ll try and keep to that trend, at least a little bit.

Currently I’m…not happy at the prospect of work tomorrow.

Night! X

Leave a Reply

